Kawasaki Teryx Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On my new 2020 teryx4 what would be a better option, lift kit or skid plate if I could only do one right now? I live where the trails can be pretty rocky.

Sorry for asking a lot of qestions , I'm just new to this.

·
Registered
264 Posts
If u r riding in rocky environment, get ur belly protection 1st.
U could also crank down on ur shocks for some Xtra height until u acquire a lift kit?
Just a thought...good luck

Sent from my XP8800 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
136 Posts
I just bought a 2” Perfex lift for Around $160cad. Went out to the Rockies in Alberta and only lightly bottomed out a few times. In my opinion a lift would be a better bang for your buck. My cousin who had a stock teryx4 was getting hung up going over berms where I didn’t even scrape.

·
Registered
934 Posts
Performance wise the lift kit is by far the best, but the peace of mind of the skids can't be beat. I ran a lift kit and larger tires and it really helped trail performance, but after inspecting the factory "skid plates" after a 3 day to Windrock it was scary to see the condition they were in and I promptly ordered aftermarket skids. I will say that having the entire bottom of the rig smooth with UHMW skids does help some as it slides rather than gets hung up as much. Also had a buddy who cracked his engine block by hitting a rock with his Viking.

·
Mat
2018 Teryx4 LE Grey Camo
13 Posts
If you financed your machine you should have just gone with the LE version that comes with the skid plates.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I thought the only difference between the le and base model was a roof, 14” wheels and led headlights.
I have a hard time believing the Base teryx came without the same thin skid plates as the le.

·
Mat
2018 Teryx4 LE Grey Camo
13 Posts
I thought the only difference between the le and base model was a roof, 14” wheels and led headlights.