Kawasaki Teryx Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I finished the fab work on my snorkels tonight and since I have searched the internet and could'nt find any detailed pictures of Teryx snorkels (accept a few from Puddle Jumper) I decided to take pics as I went and post them up.
I am no profesional and if you see anything wrong with what I am doing, please feel free to let me know.
I started with a 3" to 2" rubber adapter for the belt exhaust. I looked at Puddles work and tried that but after fighting with it for a while I decided to just flip it. The hardest part of putting snorkels on a Teryx is the clearance issues at the belt exhaust. However if you flip your adapter and put it inside the rubber sleeve that is on your belt exhaust you gain plenty of clearance to run a pvc street 90 out of it. Then just add a street 45 and a straight piece with a couple 90's on top and your exhaust is done.
On the intake side I was going to use the original rubber boot that attatches to the engine but I needed a lil flex so I replaced it with a metal covered 2"x2" rubber adapter. Then I inserted a 2" male to female 90 and a short piece of 2" pvc connected to a 2"x2" rubber 90. Its important that you use a rubber 90 here because it a odd bend that is slightly more than a 90 and the rubber allows you to make it. If you dont use the rubber here your snorkel ends up too close to the exhaust coming out of the front cylinder and will cause future problems. Then theres a short piece of 2" pvc connected to a series of 45's and 90's connected to another piece of pvc with a couple 90's on top and you have your intake snorkeled.
I have pictures that show the 3"x2" adapter before and after I cut it down to show how much to cut off. And also shows how to insert it in the original rubber sleeve. I also did away with the original zip ties on this sleeve and added hose clamps to it.