Kawasaki Teryx Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys...relatively new here. Possibly interested in lifting my 2018 Camo 2 seater but the more I read, the more options I see. I'm looking for 2 or 3 inches more clearance for rocks and trail riding here in N.E. PA. Read conflicting articles about changing the suspension geometry and ruining my components. Looking for the safest bang for my buck. Brackets, A-arms, bigger tires, wheel spacers to accommodate bigger tires in the rear? Expensive portals? I have no experience in lifts but I am mechanically able. Also, I don't want a stiff, bone jarring ride with any modification. When I got this a couple weeks ago, I softened the damping adjustments by 8 clicks and took my tire pressure to just under factory suggested. I guess I lowered my machine even more by doing this. Without causing a storm of controversy, any positive advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
953 Posts
I think that the typical 2" lift helps out a lot under a lot trailriding or mud conditions. That is a lot of extra clearance on these machines, and then combine that a little larger tire the difference is even greater. Initially I installed the Highlifter kit (brackets on the arms) with the stock tires and did not notice any significant changes in ride quality or handling. I did notice a difference on the trail when compared to my friends Viking.....when I was stock he regularly went through ruts that I would get hung up on. After the lift it was the other way around. I then went from the stock 26" to 28" tires. Current iteration is high clearance and offset a-arms front and rear, and Bandit shocks that allow about 2" of lift over stock, along with 30" tires.

For a basic lift today I would probably go with the Brute Performance kit as it is advertised to help the ride a little (it was not available when I original installed the Highlifter kit several years ago).