Kawasaki Teryx Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

Discussion Starter #1
When it gets below 40 my teryx will not start. It just makes a click click click click sound that seems to be coming from the dash area. I think that is where the starter solenoid is located? It is not the battery, it does the same thing even when jumping it. But as soon as it gets to 40 it will turn right over and fire up. Yesterday I tried a hair dryer in a couple different places up under the dash but no luck. Any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Administrator
Christ is King
Did you try bypassing the solenoid and putting power directly to the starter?

Discussion Starter #3
No sure haven't. Not exactly sure how. I'm a carpenter, not a mechanic lol.

Administrator
Christ is King
Well before you try that, are you sure it鈥檚 not the battery? The below 40 temp has me thinking. Even if it has good voltage, it could have a dead cell. That鈥檒l keep it from starting, especially at lower temps.

Discussion Starter #5
Even when jumping it? I just replaced the battery last year because it was doing the same thing.

Administrator
Christ is King
Probably not the battery if you recently replaced it. Do you have a multimeter to check voltage?

Jan 2021 TOTM Winner
Sounds like loose battery terminals or junk battery. Get the battery load tested if you can.

So when it was doing the same thing last year did replacing the battery solve the problem?

Discussion Starter #8
If i remember correctly, temporarily. Plowing did a number on that battery. I charge this one over night and still nothing.

Administrator
Christ is King
If it ends up not being the battery, here are a couple screenshots from the service manual for troubleshooting the starter system:
Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 9.33.31 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 9.35.12 AM.png

Administrator
Christ is King